top of page

UPDATED: Eating Healthy on a Budget

Remember that first blog post I made on eating healthy on a budget? These tips have really been a way of life these days. As many of you are likely in the same place as I am, I am currently not working. I graduated from massage therapy with honorable distinctions in December and then with all this craziness in the world - my board exams to become a Registered Massage Therapist have been cancelled until further notice. Furthermore, I chose to become a single mother in 2019 and so I am on my own supporting myself and my two kiddos. I want to share with you what I have learned using those tips and add some new ones!

First thing: We all have dietary restrictions of some sort. My daughter and I need to consume a gluten free diet. My son who is on the Autism Spectrum and has Frontal Lobe Epilepsy is on a therapeutic diet to help support him so he consumes a strict grain free and dairy free diet which has helped him immensely. These sorts of dietary needs can certainly get VERY pricey but here is what I have learned and how I do it! If you don't have restrictions then it will just make it THAT much easier for you to be able to stick to a budget whether you are on a single mom social assistance budget or some sort of restricted budget.


Things that I have learned on a single Mom budget:

  • Organic produce or rather, organic anything is mostly a thing of the past! Though you still may score a good sale or find it in the clearance section. You may even score a good deal from a local farmer if it is available to you to buy bulk amounts - which may not always be possible but if it is, I highly suggest it!

  • BAKE, BAKE, BAKE - especially if you have dietary restrictions! This will be a huge budget saver.

  • Always check out the little clearance areas throughout the store. You just never know what you may find. Produce, healthier snacks and treats, products that may be close to expiry dates, etc.

  • Even if a product is close to it's expiry date, throw it in the freezer when you get home!

  • One big thing I have learned is that expiry dates are not indication of food being bad. It is manufacturers way of indicating freshness of the product and not that the food is by any means inedible. Of course, there are still some foods I wouldn't consume expired. Again, you can also throw soon to expire products into the freezer to preserve them a little bit longer.

  • This is specific to Superstore itself although I have seen it at other stores sometimes but look for those items around the store that state "Enjoy Tonight" or "50% off" items that you often find first thing in the morning - my favourite time to shop!

  • This sort of small budget usually means you are shopping with SALES ONLY. It also may mean that you may need to visit 2 or 3 different stores but thankfully, our grocery stores are fairly close together depending where you shop within Saint John.

  • Always remember your reusable bags or you may need to carry your groceries out in your pockets and arms! This happens to me all the time, I am always forgetting my reusable bags but every cent you save, truly counts.

  • Check out the Flashfood App. You can score some super cheap produce on there! Sometimes even organic!

  • If you have food restrictions of some sort whether gluten free, grain free, dairy free, vegan, etc., check out Marshall's and Winner's for snacks, treats, even sometimes nuts and seeds or baking supplies for a good price!

  • When you can't create fancy meals due to budget, spices and herbs in your cooking really go a long way for flavour. Get creative and try it out!

  • Depending on sale prices, name brands can also at times be a thing of the past.

  • Practicing portion control can really go a long way in helping with a budget.

  • This one won't be very 'holistic' of me but the reality is some convenience foods are going to be purchased when you have a very small budget. My job as an RHN is of course to suggest whole foods and I most certainly do! These convenience products can be on sale for super, super cheap sometimes, or maybe at the end of the month when you are scrounging together nickles to feed your children or having to rely on a food bank - you won't get much choice. Although I personally can't really buy these products because of our restrictions, let's be realistic people, it is reality sometimes! Don't feel bad about it. You are doing your best. I highly suggest you try to add some steamed or raw veggies to those products! Having a bag of carrots or frozen peas or broccoli (or whatever your favourite is) on hand at all times goes a long way. Be at peace and grateful for full tummy's and focus on nutrients as much as possible! Do your best <3

  • In the end... There are some things I have discovered and learned through all of this: there are some products I will never give up on - EVER: Good quality fats such as avocado oil, coconut oil and I will NEVER eat margarine no matter how much cheaper it can be than butter. I learned that I don't like canned vegetables... at all! (YUCK!) but thankfully frozen vegetables are pretty cheap and there are many sales on fresh produce too that I can bypass that one easily. Lastly, non-organic, natural peanut butter is HORRIBLE *gags*. I will happily pay the couple extra bucks more for a jar of the good organic stuff.


How do you make it on a tight budget while still eating healthy?! Do you have meals you would recommend that are super cheap?


-K


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page