top of page

6 to 9 Cups a Day Challenge


Guys! I have a challenge for you. Starting January 1st, 2019 - I challenge you to consume 6 to 9 cups of vegetables and fruits per day for 30 days. Christmas can be such a tough time for some. So much delicious food around. I know I allow myself to indulge - sometimes a little too much. Turkey dinners, shortbread cookies, Yum! Not to mention New Year's Eve too! Phew - I expect it and I accept it. It is ok guys.


Let's not let it drag out though. Commit today to start fresh on January 1st. Join the challenge, gain motivation and inspiration for yourself to get back on track. Maybe you are thinking - 9 CUPS?! Is she crazy?! This is just the challenge. Maybe 6 cups a day sound more manageable for you? or 3 cups if you're just starting out? If that is your goal - YAY! Awesome! If you're just exploring and trying to add more vegetables into your diet slowly and that is all you're looking for - Still, I encourage you to please join us. Let this be motivation and encouragement to add more vegetables into your life. Let this be the year you change your health and take better care for yourself.


Over the course of 30 days, I encourage you to hashtag, #6to9cupsofvegetablesaday . Share your recipes, share your meal photos with me, show me how you get your veggies/fruit into your diet. This can be in the form of salads, soups, smoothies, juicing, roasting, steaming, grilling, stirfrying, fermentation, sandwiches, wraps - however you eat your veggies, come share with us. I would love to see your recipes and definitely post your meals. This is also motivation for me too guys!


So, why 6 to 9 cups?

Have you ever heard of Dr. Terry Wahl's?! No? It's ok. Nutrition nerd here. Having autoimmune disease in my immediate family, diagnosed at a young age, it is my motivation to take really good care of myself. To prevent it or maybe even just to delay to possibility is the goal. Which has also shaped my strong interest in nutrition and autoimmune diseases. Dr. Wahl's is incredible. After she was diagnosed with MS and not having much luck with medications, she decided to turn to nutrition which is how she reversed her MS. She went from wheelchair with barely any movement to full ability to move, walk, hike, run, etc. It is very inspiring. Through her protocol, she recommends feeding the mitochondria in our bodies by consuming 9 cups of vegetables and fruit per day (or 6 cups for us shorter more petite gals). Do you need to have a autoimmune disease to join this challenge? No! Absolutely not. It isn't the point of the challenge at all. Anyone is welcome. It is just something that inspires me which I like to share.


Um.. back track Krista - What is this so called "mitochondria" we speak of?

Mitochondria is SO important. They are our cells power producers! They convert food molecules into the energy that our cells need so that they are capable of doing their jobs. They also coordinate communication between cells. EVERY function in our body depends on the mitochondria.


I love her 9 cups a day protocol and often try to follow that lightly. There are days I don't get that much and that's ok! She inspires others to aim for a variation - which I would recommend too:


3 Cups Leafy Greens (This is kale, collards, chard, spinach, lettuce, beet greens, etc) to provide lots of Vitamin A, B, C and K.


3 Cups Sulfur Rich vegetables (This is cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, garlic, onion, mushrooms, etc.) These guys help support our body in the removal of toxins. Garlic is such a powerful food - I love it!


3 Cups Rainbow - Aim for 3 colours a day. These are full of antioxidants. They have to be colour all the way through. Apples and bananas aren't coloured all the way through - not that they aren't supporting for us too, but think berries, beets and carrots.


Again, if 9 cups is too much, start small. There is no shame in that. No one is judging you. It is all about starting from where you are today. Try a new veggie a week! Try new fruits! Try new recipes!


During the 30 days, I will make daily posts sharing a recipe, tips/tricks, inspirational words, motivation, maybe a little on nutrition info, or what I am eating each day for your inspiration too. I encourage you to share your recipes and pictures too. Share on my daily post and/or in the facebook group. Don't forget to hashtag #6to9cupsofvegetablesaday. You guys are a big inspiration for me too. I will post in my blog daily but I will also post in the Facebook group too: https://www.facebook.com/groups/2220552224674971/


-K


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page