top of page

Travelling to the Gaspe Coast: Snack Ideas and Our Experience Away So Far

Updated: Feb 17, 2022

When we decided that we were going to take our first ever family vacation, especially to my hometown in Quebec, I knew I was going to try and save costs by packing a big cooler of snacks and meals for our travels there.


Tucker decided he didn't want to be involved in our family photo with my niece lol :)

I didn't get a lot of pictures of everything I packed in our cooler:


In the picture: Mixed raw nuts, natural PB. made good granola bars, Tucker's organic ketchup, cherries, apples, applesauce, hummus, rice crackers, GF graham crackers in case we decided to have s'mores at my Dad's.

Additional to the photo above, I packed:

- veggie tray containing carrots, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, broccoli, and cauliflower with ranch dip

-local strawberries

-mini watermelon

-GF seed crackers (to go with the hummus)

-Skinny pop popcorn

-Organic non-gmo tortilla chips (to go with the hummus too)

-GF/Nitrate Free Organic deli meat and real mayo

-Loaf of GF Canyon Bakehouse 7-Grain bread (for sandwiches)


I also packed a few of my recipes for treats:

and



Perce Rock, Quebec

The language difference in Quebec definitely proved to be very difficult while eating a gluten free diet and I ended up glutened once when we ate out for a late lunch in Perce Rock. Thankfully, I didn't react to gluten the way I used to in the past. I used to get VERY sick in the past but I'm proud to say my immune system is definitely much stronger.


I tried to stick to eating at my Dad's instead(where we were staying); My french skills aren't very good and I had a difficult time with waitresses understanding my request for a meal 'sans gluten'. That's ok! We made some quick delicious meals at my Dad's that made up for it!


The lesson was learned to plan better next time we enter Quebec. We leave for Quebec City and Montreal in 2 days where our vacation will come to an end to bring my niece back home. This time, I have researched and made a list of gluten free restaurants/bakeries or restaurants very gluten free friendly. I feel like we won't run into that issue again if we plan our meals out a bit better this time!


I am really looking forward to exploring Quebec City and the restaurants I found. I even found a bakery in Montreal that is dedicated Gluten free... it serves GF Croissants!!!! I haven't eaten a croissant in over 4 years since having to eliminate gluten. VERY excited.


I hope some of these easy ideas help you plan for your next road trip.


-K

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page