top of page

Quebec City: Poutineville

Quebec City so far has been amazing! It is beautiful and so many unique buildings. SOOOOO many gluten free options at every restaurant we have looked at. Last night we decided to chose to eat supper at Poutineville. Being from the Gaspe coast - I love a good, real Quebecois poutine. You just can't find that sort of thing anywhere else in Canada. It is never the same.





Walking up to the restaurant, it was located on Rue Saint-Joseph Est. The cobblestone road is super neat! It was a beautiful area. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. It was VERY busy when we were eating there and there was not an empty table. I don't recommend sitting at the tables walking in through the door. I found people were constantly hitting and running into our chairs and table. If you prefer a quiet environment, this is probably not the space for you but it was a fun upbeat environment.


We were greeted quickly and seated quickly. Our main waiter was totally bilingual and made a good effort to go over the entire menu with me to tell me what was gluten free and what was not gluten free. Basically everything was gluten free. Some meat additions were not. The sweet potato fry option was not. All of their sauces are gluten free except for the red wine sauce and pepper gravy. They had a main menu and then they had a create your own menu. I decided to pick a create your own option. I wanted a good "chou-chou" poutine that I used to get from my hometown. I haven't had one of those in years!



I ordered crushed potatoes, curd cheese, peas, coleslaw, and chicken with poutine gravy.

I loved the create your own option. It made it fun and you could add as much as you want on your poutine. You just fill out the paper and the waitress took it back with her. We had multiple different waiters and waitresses during our experience and I found they were all bilingual and could speak perfect English which made it nice. I am curious if we will find that at any other restaurants we decide to try in this city.


It wasn't long before our order came. I was so excited to dig in!!!




It was DELICIOUS!!! I learned my lesson that next time I only need to order a smaller portion. lol this was WAY too much for my belly but every bite was incredible.


I highly recommend - gluten free or not - you stop by this place and try it out if you're ever in the city. Be warned: The drive there and parking were fun - lol. We got lost a few times on 6 and 8 lane highways and it took us a bit to find parking. We are from a small city and not used of the Quebec driving. I imagine others are used of this sort of driving. Lots of laugh and a little (lot) of cursing and I can't wait to do it again today!


-K

7 views0 comments
bottom of page