top of page

What is Gua Sha?


Often in my massage therapy treatments I use a technique called Gua Sha.


Gua = Scraping of the skin in one direction.

Sha = Redness in skin, sometimes also referred to as petechiae.


Some Traditional Chinese Medicine sources will state that gua sha means “scraping away illness”.


Historical records of gua sha are dated back to the Paleolithic Ages. In Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), gua sha is used much differently than you will see here in Western countries but it has deeply intrigued me! It is one of the oldest recorded forms of TCM and is used to treat and prevent colds, flus, asthma, chronic disease of all sorts, pain, etc. to prevent congestion of the flow of qi (energy) and blood as seen in diseases.


Gua sha helps increase blood circulation and reduce stagnant blood and lymph. This promotes detoxification by pushing fluids and toxins ahead of itself. It will stimulate blood flow, remove coldness (as seen with restricted circulation & energy), remove negative energy, toxic heat, promote lymph drainage and improve our immune system.


I use gua sha as a different technique from TCM doctors, I have found in my own personal experience and in my practice for it to be a very effective tool in targeting fascial restrictions and ‘stuck’ energy as commonly seen in trauma, helping clients become body aware (especially when it comes to trauma) as well as for scar treatment and so much more!


As you can see in this photo, this is an example of mild petechiae (tiny spots of bleeding under the skin) AKA ‘sha’ that is intentional with the use of gua sha. (First 2 photos during treatment, Last 2 photos 1 hour post treatment)




I feel it is important to note here that gua sha is not really painful although I always work within your comfort level anyways. Sometimes it may cause a funny ‘tingling’ or nerve sensation (the most common feedback from clients) or in areas of fascial restrictions, you may notice a significant difference in skin texture as my tool is run along your skin. It all depends on the reason I am using my tool and what our treatment goals are but 99% of my clients LOVE gua sha.


A light colour of sha indicates blood deficiency whereas purple or black indicates stagnant blood. Dark red can also indicate heat within the body.


I will share my own experience with gua sha: I actually was inspired to take my gua sha certification and learn more about it because of my own experience with it. I have a past history of being physically abused that caused significant bruising and injury to the muscles in my right arm. Upon having a colleague use gua sha on this area during my treatment, the ‘sha’ I experienced quite literally looked EXACTLY like the bruising that I indured from this physical trauma. You could literally see the handprint on my shoulder! It was the most inspiring and intriguing thing I had ever experienced and so this was when I knew I needed to learn more!


This has also proven to me to be a FANTASTIC modality to use especially with clients who seek treatments with me that struggle with direct physical touch and are working through PTSD triggers on specific areas of their body. I love working closely with these clients so that in time, they can enjoy a massage like those of you who do not have those triggers.


-K

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page