top of page

Hidden Veggie Alphagetti

Kids can be tough to feed sometimes. There are some that just down right refuse to eat any vegetables, there are some with texture sensitivities then there are some who love to eat all sorts of vegetables and a texture never bothers them one bit and all the kiddos in between that too of course! I don't always believe that it has to do with exposure to these things. Yes there are times bad eating habits are taught to children but there are times we also really try as parents to feed our kiddos veggies and fruit with no luck.

My kids have been exposed to a variety of fruits and veggies from before they ate food until the time they started eating food and especially now. My son has always struggled with texture sensitivities which can be diet limiting and my daughter has decided this past school year that she doesn't want to eat any vegetables - though some days are better than others. I don't push any certain food on them, I don't make them eat anything in order to step away from the dinner table but I do continually expose them to these natural foods and encourage them to consume them or at least try a bite of them. I don't allow them to consume garbage foods just so they will eat - I know they will eat when they are hungry regardless of what I have in my house to eat.


Instead, I get a little creative! I create meals and options that are appealing and tasty. Often they know the veggies are there, so they aren't truly "hidden" veggies but rather a more creative way to get those veggies into them that is texture friendly AND I mean who can turn down a yummy bowl of alphagetti? So this recipe is dedicated to all you other Mom's out there - whether you are trying to encourage healthier eating habits in your family, looking for healthy new recipes to try, struggle with a texture sensitive child, or have a child who just down right refuses to eat vegetables some days - this one is for you! I've got your back. <3 Keep exposing them, keep trying! Never give up... Eventually they will take to it.


Because my kids also eat gluten free, I found sorghum alphabet noodles at Marshall's to use but you are welcome to use the Eden Food Vegetable Alphabet Noodles, Artesian kamut alphabet noodles, Bulk barn, Marshall's and Winner's have some great fun shaped noodles made out of wheat, or really whatever noodle you or your kiddos like! You could even use brown and/or wild rice.

Hidden Veggie Alphagetti Recipe:

Ingredients:

2 Cups Alphabet noodles - cooked and drain according to box/bag - set aside


In a pot add all of the following:

1-2 cloves Garlic, crushed or roughly cut up

1/2 Medium Onion, roughly diced

2 Cups Carrot, sliced up

1 Cup Sweet potato, diced up

1 Cup Raw Spinach

28 ounces Diced Tomato (fresh or jarred)

2 Cups Filtered Water

1 Tbsp Raw Unpasteurized Honey

2 Tsp Unpasteurized Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tsp Dried Basil

1 Tsp Dried Oregano

Additionally: You can add a little of your favourite veggies: more spinach or greens, broccoli is great, zucchini, squash, mushrooms, etc. Today I kept it basic!


Bring ingredients to a simmer until the sweet potato and carrots are cooked. You can check this by poking a fork through them. If they are soft and poke right through, it is done. You can let it sit on the stove for a bit until it cools down. I used my vitamix but any blender should work just fine. Throw it into the blender and puree everything! My vitamix took just a few seconds to do that.


After Blending, stir in:

1/2 Cup Grated Cheese of choice OR 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast (OPTIONAL)

*For Dairy free - omit grated cheese and use nutritional yeast or omit this ingredient altogether.


In a large bowl, mix together the noodles and the pureed sauce. You're ready to serve it! This freezes great in portions for school too.


Enjoy

-K

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page